“European Universities” alliances: 4 of 15 German universities are in Baden-Württemberg

The European Commission announced that four universities in Baden-Württemberg are supporting the establishment of European universities and university networks. This means that all the universities in the state involved in this round have been successful and will be part of the first “European Universities” alliances. They will enhance the quality and attractiveness of European higher education and boost cooperation between institutions, their students and staff.

The University of Freiburg with the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the University of Heidelberg and the University of Tübingen belong to networks that receive up to five million euros each from the European Union. With four participating universities, Baden-Württemberg is also the most successful German state in the competition. "This success is further proof of the excellent quality and innovative strength of Baden-Württemberg's universities and their excellent position in the European university and research landscape," said Science Minister Theresia Bauer.

Of the 114 universities funded throughout Europe, 15 are located in Germany. In Berlin and Saxony, there are two universities each, in other federal states one university each. A total of 17 university networks will be funded over three years with a sum of five million euros each.

Science, research and teaching need a diversity of perspectives

The aim of the Europe-wide initiative is to strengthen strategic partnerships between higher education institutions across the EU in order to enable the establishment of initially 17 European higher education institutions or networks of higher education institutions. The European Union, through the Erasmus+ programme, is providing a total of 85 million euros over three years for the networks now selected. "Science, research and teaching thrive best where diversity of perspectives is promoted. To this end, lively and close international cooperation such as that which is now to be established in the European universities is of elementary importance," concluded Bauer.

The following universities in Baden-Württemberg are involved in three European university networks:

University of Freiburg and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

In the "European Partnership for an Innovative Campus Unifying Regions" (EPICUR), the University of Freiburg cooperates with the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, the Universities of Strasbourg and Haute-Alsace (France), the University of Amsterdam (Netherlands), the Adam Mickiewicz University Poznań (Poland), the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna (Austria) and the Aristotle University Thessaloniki (Greece). The European higher education network EPICUR emphasises the desired cooperation in the field of university teaching and places, among other things, the digital transformation of teaching forms as well as the expansion of mobility for students at the centre of cooperation. In addition, the European languages and the various networks in which the universities are embedded form the focal points of cooperation.
University of Heidelberg

The University of Heidelberg, together with the Charles University in Prague (Czech Republic), the University of Sorbonne in Paris (France), the University of Warsaw (Poland), and the universities in Copenhagen (Denmark), and Milan (Italy) with its strategic network "4EU+ European University Alliance", participated in the pilot call. The 4EU+ partnership builds on existing bilateral and multilateral cooperation, but aims to intensify the cooperation between the six universities in the areas of research, teaching, study, transfer and administration and to anchor it at a new level. In a common mission statement, the Alliance's partners acknowledge the responsibility of the universities to find solutions to global challenges. The fields of work are to include health and demographic change, Europe in a changing world, the transformation of science and society through new information and communication technologies, as well as questions of biodiversity and a sustainable environment.

University of Tübingen

Under the acronym "CIVIS - a European Civil University", the Université d´Aix Marseille (France), the National and Kapodistrias University of Athens (Greece), the University of Bucharest (Romania), the Université Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium), the Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain), the Sapienza Università di Roma (Italy), the Stockholm Universitet (Sweden) and the University of Tübingen (Germany) have joined together to form a network. At the heart of its global strategy are the Mediterranean Region and Africa, convinced that the future of Europe and Africa will be intertwined. CIVIS therefore sees itself as a mediator between Europe, the Mediterranean Region and Africa and would like to become involved there in the long term. This project is intended to make a decisive contribution to the attractiveness of European universities on the world stage.

Further information can be found here: http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-19-3389_en.htm


Photo: Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)