Ensuring the country's innovative strength

The Baden-Württemberg University Financing Agreement 2021-2025 governs the financing of the 45 public universities in Baden-Württemberg as well as the five medical faculties. Baden-Württemberg has more state universities than any other state in the Federal Republic and at the same time, with six different types of university, it has the most differentiated university system.

Minister President Winfried Kretschmann, Science Minister Theresia Bauer and Finance Minister Edith Sitzmann as well as the rectors, presidents and deans of the 45 state universities and the five medical faculties have signed the corresponding agreement.

The university financing agreement is intended to strengthen the universities and the associated students, scientific staff and professors. Research and teaching are to be promoted in this way in order to ensure the innovative strength of the state.

Baden-Württemberg will provide the public universities with funds totalling approximately 1.8 billion euros over the next five years. This will enable the universities to take advantage of the opportunities offered by digitalisation, knowledge and technology transfer or new research profiles.

For further information (in German) please visit the website of the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research and Arts.